Call into the Sticky Fingers Candy Shop to get all the latest tourist information. Location: 63 Jerilderie Street. Phone: 0448 878 597 Monday-Friday: 9 am-3 pm and Saturday-Sunday: 9 am-1 pm.
You can view a map of Jerilderie here.
Heritage walks, a tree-lined streetscape, and the cleanest toilets in NSW await visitors to the historic township of Jerilderie. Established in 1859, the town is nestled on the banks of Australia’s, and reputedly the world’s, longest creek. Billabong Creek winds its way through Jerilderie and 321 kms of quintessentially Australian landscape.
Jerilderie is known in history as the childhood home of Australia’s greatest military strategist, Sir John Monash. The private home stands beautifully preserved in the main street where you can sense the history, browse shops devoted to vintage wares and collectables, and mull on opportunities to establish your own small business dream leveraged off the thousands of visitors passing though on the Newell each day.
Nothing quite so drastic has happened since the Ned Kelly Gang visited in 1879. Ned wrote his manifesto, The Jerilderie Letter, whilst the gang kept the town’s prominent citizens hostage in the local Hotel. Today, the Kelly bank vault is on view in the Royal Mail Hotel. Visitors can walk the heritage precinct, enjoy the outlaw’s story, meander through the Powell St heritage precinct, or experience the serenity of Billabong Creek and Lake Jerilderie.
Not a day passes where picturesque Lake Jerilderie is not enjoyed by locals or visitors stretching their legs and breathing in the clean eucalypt scented air. Horgan’s Walk is easy to navigate, peaceful and revitalising. The old worlde Mini Railway located Creekside still captures children’s imaginations. Run by the local Apex Club, it is available for special bookings and events.
The productive plains surrounding Jerilderie make a significant contribution to Australia’s fresh produce including Billabong Produce tomatoes and olives, rice, Bonic’s organic wines, cotton and cereal cropping. Transport, services, seasonal and permanent work, keep unemployment statistics low and living easy.
History and Heritage
Jerilderie was home to the Jeithi Aboriginal Tribe. The Tribal area was approximately 13,000 square kilometres, which extended north of the Murray River from west of Tocumwal to near Howlong, and to Jerilderie, Lake Urana and Lockhart. The last Jeithi elder David Kennedy, passed away in 1930.
1874 - Sir John Monash, honoured military commander, whose image appears on our $100 note, attended Jerilderie Public School from 1874 to 1877. His name can be seen in the head office of the school as Dux. In later life he achieved Arts, Civil Engineering and Law Degrees at Melbourne University. During 1897-98 Sir John utilised both his engineering and legal skills as an expert witness and adviser to pastoralists, farmers and townspeople, who brought an action against David and Samuel McCaughey when they dammed much of the water on the Billabong and Colombo Creeks. In the First World War, Monash was a Lieutenant-General in command of the entire Australian Army Corps. He received a knighthood, which was presented to him by King George V at his battle headquarters in Bertangles, France, on 12 August 1918. Sir John Monash held the first ANZAC day service in 1916. He was a leading and loved public figure after the war, becoming involved in many public and private organisations, such as the Boy Scouts.
1875 - Jerilderie's first bank - the Bank of New South Wales
1878 - Jerilderie and Urana Gazette commenced
1879 - Ned Kelly Gang raid - Jerilderie is the only town in New South Wales to be visited by the Ned Kelly Gang. From February 8th to 10th 1879, Ned and Dan Kelly, Steve Hart and Joe Byrne staged a hold up in Jerilderie. The Gang locked the police in their own cells, stole £2140 from the bank and destroyed a number of mortgage documents. The wires to the telegraph office were cut and Ned handed over the written account of his life actions to Edward Living, the bank accountant. This document is known as the ‘Jerilderie Letter’. It is thought that in addition to the cash, the gang targeted Jerilderie to have Ned’s Letter printed on the town’s printing press. The Gang escaped into the forest which was south of Jerilderie. Today the original Jerilderie Letter is held at the State Library of Victoria.
1884 - Railway extended from Narrandera to Jerilderie (extended to Berrigan in 1894, Finley 1898 and Tocumwal 1914)
1926 - the Yanko, Colombo and Billabong Creek systems were augmented from the Murrumbidgee River to create opportunities to expand agricultural industry in the area.
1979 - Official opening of the man-made lake at Jerilderie
1987 - Railway line closed
Jerilderie has a fascinating history which combines the notorious bushranger Ned Kelly and his gang and also Australia's greatest military strategist, Sir John Monash.
The Ned Kelly Raid Trail 1879
Jerilderie is the only town in NSW featured in the Ned Kelly saga and has more surviving authentic Kelly sites than anywhere else along the Ned Kelly Touring Route. Ned Kelly and his gang captured the town during the raid on Jerilderie in February 1879 when they robbed the local bank of 2,000 pounds. Here, Ned gave his Jerilderie Letter to the bank's accountant for publication as well as printing in the Jerilderie Gazette. It outlined Kelly's defence of the Gang's actions at Stringybark Creek, but was not published until after Kelly's death.
The Ned Kelly Raid Trail is a self-guided tour of the 16 sites visited by Ned Kelly and his gang in 1879. With 6 of the buildings directly associated to the 1879 visit still standing, it’s a fantastic insight into how the town looked when Ned visited. The trail is an enjoyable and educational way to explore Australia’s bushranger history. A comprehensive self-guided tour brochure, complete with timeline, has been developed for the Kelly aficionados to directly retrace the footsteps of Ned and his gang as they proceeded to carry out an event that was to become an icon in the annals of Australian history. Follow in Ned’s footsteps, explore the sites and make your own decision: Ned Kelly, hero or outlaw? Download a map. You can also call into our Jerilderie Murrumbidgee Council office to collect one.
Download the Ned Kelly Touring Route which explores the Kelly sites of Melbourne, North East Victoria and Southern NSW.
Steel Wings Windmill
Situated at Luke Park adjacent to Lake Jerilderie, this structure is truly a magnificent sight. Made in Sydney in 1909 -1910, the windmill was erected at Goolgumbla Station and used for stock and domestic supplies. Due to wind damage it was rendered unserviceable until a Local Restoration Committee resurrected it in its present position in 1979. It stands 50 feet (15.24 metres) tall, has a wheel diameter of 25 foot (7.62 metres) and a tail length of 24 foot (7.315 metres). Click here for more information.
Leopard Tank, Memorial Park
The tank was originally in service with the Australian Army. When the army was decommissioning the series, the astute members of the Jerilderie RSL sub branch applied for a tank and actually received the first one that was allocated. It has been located at Memorial Park since 2010 when former Governor of NSW Marie Bashir unveiled the new addition to Jerilderie's military history.
The tank was repainted in November 2020 by former Jerilderie local Drew Locke. The project funded through the Federal Government's Saluting Their Service Commemorative Program.
The Jerilderie Railway Station was constructed in 1884 and represents a grand picture in the history of this transport facility. The station underwent repairs and improvements to coincide with the Centenary Celebrations in October 1984. It closed operations on the 9 February 1987. A project to renovate the station was undertaken by the Jerilderie Historical Society in conjunction with the Jerilderie Council in April 1993, and it was used for residential purposes for some years. In 2001 State Rail provided the funding and in conjunction with the Jerilderie Shire Council's Heritage Advisor, restored the building to its former glory. It's set amongst tall, shady gums, with a landscaped lawn. Please just view this station from the roadside as it's currently a private residence.
The Old Printery
Enter via 45 Jerilderie Street (Jerilderie Library)
Opening Hours: 10 am to 4 pm (closed Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday)
‘Doing the Bolt’ is an exhibition of convicts and bushrangers, including the town’s famous three-day encounter with the Kelly Gang in 1879. You can undertake a self-guided tour through the Old Printery (entrance via Jerilderie Library) to discover stories connected by ‘the bolt of a prison door’. The exhibition is housed in the former office of the Jerilderie and Urana Gazette run in 1879 by Mr Samual Gill. The Kelly Gang tried to track down newspaperman Gill on Monday 10 February 1879, to have Ned’s 56 page manifesto printed.
The Willows Homestead
This stately old homestead, once housed the Jerilderie Museum and Jerilderie Historical Society memorabilia. It began its life in 1884 as a flour mill when constructed for Thomas and George Wise. The first ton of wheat was delivered for milling during the week ending 8 March 1885. Later in the same year rail came to Jerilderie and then, with the town water supply available from 1894, Wise Bros relocated their flour milling operations onto railway land, connected by a spur line.
Utilising, in part, bricks from the chimney stack of the mill, the homestead was remodelled and occupied by Thomas Wise as his family residence until 1909. Between 1920 and 1959 the homestead was occupied by Dr Marcus Vicars Southey, DSO, as his residence and surgery.
The homestead became derelict until purchased by the NSW Land Department in August 1975 and dedicated as a Reserve for a Museum. Jerilderie Shire Council was appointed trustees, with the Historical Society responsible for its management. Click here for more information.
Post and Telegraph Office
During the Kelly Gang’s raid in 1879, the telegraph line was cut to prevent anyone from communication of the gang’s presence. The Post Office is currently only available for viewing externally. Located on Powell Street.
The Ned Kelly Blacksmith Shop
Step back in time and experience yesteryear, hear an eye-witness account of the raid on the Bank of New South Wales in Jerilderie by Ned Kelly and his gang, soak up the nostalgia of standing where the Kelly Gang's horses were shod in 'The Ned Kelly Blacksmith Shop'. A collection of Australiana, fishing and blacksmithing memorabilia, souvenirs and bric-a-brac are available. Open by appointment: 0428 861513, Powell Street Jerilderie
The Jerilderie Library is located at 41-43 Jerilderie Street and is a fantastic facility for all members of the community. The library was previously located at the Old Court House until the new library was built in its central location. The current library was opened on 15 April 2009 and has a combination of historic and modern influences. The building is a replica to the original “Banksi” home, which once stood at the site. Some of the material was recycled from the original building, including a front window, doors, a mantel piece and ceiling rose which is a feature in the “Banksi” room, named after the original building.
The construction of the new library also included engaging a local artist, Helene Mortlock, to design two glass panels to display at the entry to the Library. The panels illustrate some of Jerilderie's rich history and present day influences, and include photographs as well as Helene’s artistic drawing. The panels can be viewed during normal library opening hours.
The Old Printery
This is the former office of the Jerilderie and Urana Gazette run in 1879 by Mr Samuel Gill. The Kelly Gang tried to track down newspaperman Gill on Monday 10 February 1879, to have Ned’s 56 page manifesto printed ("Jerilderie Letter").The restoration of this building was completed in 2012.
It also houses the ‘Doing the Bolt’ is an exhibition of convicts and bushrangers, including the town’s famous three-day encounter with the Kelly Gang in 1879. This exhibition is not currently open.
Flora Bank – Historic Home and Gardens (Previously known as Ye Olde Bank)
Located in Jerilderie Street, this grand building has been restored to its former glory with the interior designed and contents displayed just as they would have been in the 1800s. The building showcases an impressive collection of pieces from the Queen Victoria era. Guided tours are available for visitors to view this beautiful building and its immaculately presented garden and experience the charm and elegance of the Victorian era. Tours are available by appointment, contact Roy or Beth on 0499 849 320 or 0457 618 284. Group bookings are preferable. Open garden everyday unless inclement weather, September to June.
ART AND CULTURE
Wedge-Tailed Eagle Mural
Eastern side of the Jerilderie Bakery
Created by local Jerilderie artists, the image of the local Wedge-Tailed Eagle carries the line of the Billabong Creek and some of it's tributaries on it's wings.
35 Jerilderie Street
1300 676 243
Opening hours: Viewing by appointment only
Be sure to stop into the Council Chambers in Jerilderie Street to view the the incredible mural gracing the walls fo the chamber. Meaning Coming Together, the mural measures a massive 8 metres by 4 metres in size. It was created for the 2000 Olympic Games to provide a visual welcome to visitors for peace and safe travel. It was hung in Parliament House during the Games. The painting depicts various Aboriginal design elements including the Eaglehawk, which is the Barundji/Barkindji totem. It also depicts a white feather to symbolise safe travel, which is also a Barundji/Barkindji belief. It was created by four Barundji/Barkindji artists: Elise Black, Gertrude Gittins, Eileen Ballangarry and Sos Hawkins. These women can trace their family back at least 700 years as direct matriarchal descendants of the tribe. Contact Tianni at the Jerilderie office for a viewing of this unique masterpiece and to learn more of its story.
NATURE AND LEISURE
Access at Bolton Street or behind Luke Park, Powell Street
The Billabong Creek is believed to be the longest creek in the world at 321 kms. A public fishing pontoon is located behind the Jerilderie Sports Club.
Bush Tucker Trail
Starts and finishes at Luke Park, Powell Street
Growing along the trail you will find various native species, interpretation signs and a genuine aboriginal humpy.
Jerilderie Apex Mini Rail
The Jerilderie Apex Mini Rail is located over the bridge from Powell Street. The mini rail track is nestled amongst the Billabong Creek and provides an ideal location for an exciting experience for the children and the young at heart. Special bookings or enquiries phone: 0427 344 899. Please note closed shoes must be worn to ride the mini rail.
Horgan's Walk is an easy 10 minute walk along the banks of the Billabong Creek starting at Luke Park near Lake Jerilderie. Beginning at the Steel Wings in Luke Park, the walk passes many historic sites that are marked with signs giving a brief history of the area. You will also see the Jerilderie Tidy Towns Bush Tucker Trail along the walk.
- Powell’s Bridge – in the early days of the town, no bridge existed in Jerilderie across the creek, although John Powell operated a punt to get people to the other side. Later, he built a timber bridge. The old bridge became unsafe with age, but a footbridge was erected in 1997.
- The Willows – named after the weeping willows which used to grow along the edge of the creek. “The Willows” was built in two stages during the 1880’s and 1890’s for the Wise family. The Wise Brothers ran the Jerilderie Flourmill, which adjoined the property. In the 1920’s, the house was taken over by Dr Southey, who rant a surgery in the rear of the building.
- Post & Telegraph Office – the tiny Jerilderie Post and Telegraph Office was built during the 1860s when Powell Street was considered Jerilderie’s main street. The Building is famous for its involvement in the Kelly Gang’s raid on the town in 1879. The gang cut the telegraph wires so that news of their bank robbery wouldn’t get out. Years later, the Office was used as a residence by a large family.
- Plumbe and Neivandt’s Blacksmith & Undertakers – a ‘smithys’ operated at the site of the Plumbe and Neivandt’s Blacksmith’s and Undertakers shop at least since the 1870s. In 1879, this shop was also visited by the Kelly Gang who had their horses reshod there. Marcus Whitby, a wheelwrite, later built coaches on the premises. By the turn of the century, funeral directors shared the space. With the coming of cars, petrol bowsers were eventually installed at the front of the shop in Powell Street.
- Jerilderie Public School – was first erected during the 1970s, although the present building dates from 1876. With the school backing onto Billabong Creek, the creek has long been a favourite place for the children to ‘muck about’. One of the town’s most famous residents, Sir John Monash, used to build cubby houses in the bush on the north side of the creek.
- The Swimming Hole – until the construction of the Jerilderie Swimming Pool, the ‘swimming hole’, officially known as Horgan’s Park, was maintained with a sandy beach, mowed lawns and changing sheds, situated above the flood line. There was a pontoon tied in the middle of the river, and once a year, the creek was divided into lanes for the swimming carnival.
- Chinese Market Garden – at the end of Aston Street, used to supply much of Jerilderie’s vegetables.
Lake Jerilderie and Luke Park
The lake was officially opened in February 1979, following its construction by a group of enthusiasts presently known as the Jerilderie Aquatic Club. The water area is 5.3 ha. and is used for water sports including skiing and enjoyed by recreationists and passing travellers. The lake is stocked with native fish and is frequented by many species of birds, including pelicans, ducks and swans. Lake Jerilderie is surrounded by an all-weather walking/cycling track and has a circuit of outdoor exercise equipment.
Visit Luke Park, with its fun children’s playground, fully enclosed and shaded. Enjoy a picnic or utilise the free barbecue facilities and undercover seating. Luke Park is the gateway to the Mini Rail and Horgan's Walk.
Memorial Park and Garden and Leopard Tank
Cnr Powell Street and Jerilderie Street
Memorial Park was completed in 2010 and is home to the Jerilderie Cenotaph. It is a peaceful site created to allow people to reflect and honour the fallen and those who served and continue to serve Australia in War. The park is also home to a Leopard tank, decommissioned and donated to the Jerilderie community and Jerilderie RSL Sub-Branch in 2010. A garden, established and maintained by the Jerilderie Public School and St Joseph’s Primary School, can also be enjoyed at this site.
Shopping and facilities
Browse through the various Bric-a Brac and specialty shops in Jerilderie to find some hidden treasures.
Anglican Church Second Hand Shop
Browse through this charity secondhand shop for some bargains and pre-loved treasures. Open Mondays and some other days.
Jerilderie IGA supermarket
Replenish your supplies, including meat from the in-house butcher.
Jerilderie Men’s Shed
The local Men’s Shed has a great collection of handmade timber items as well as pre loved furniture and custom made pieces. Open Tuesday and Thursday mornings.
For all your reading needs as well as stationery, toys and giftware, drop into the Jerilderie Newsagency for a look, open 7 days.
Open Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm, the Jerilderie Pharmacy has a great range of gifts for children and adult alike, browse the unique collection of homewares, beauty products as well as jewellery and handbags to name a few.
Jerilderie Post Office
As well as all your postal services, the Jerilderie Post Office offers a range of locally made items as well as luggage, appliances and books.
A varied collection of vintage, antique and collector items, browse the huge assortment to find a treasure or two.
From books to clothes, furniture and home wares, this second hand store has it all. Open Mondays.
Jerilderie’s own St Vincent de Paul shop caters for everyone with a variety of second hand clothes, shoes and miscellaneous items. 36 Jerilderie Street.
Sticky-Fingers Candy Shop
At Sticky Fingers you’ll find all of the old fashion favourites including aniseed balls, Dutch licorice, sherbets, rock candy, and Choo Choo Bars along with speciality dark chocolates and the famous Melba’s Inch Licorice Block. Housed in a heritage listed building, the shop once served as a printery and later a barber shop. The story behind the building wouldn’t be complete without a Ned Kelly connection but you’ll have to ask Kathy about that one!
Location: 63 Jerilderie Street. Phone: 0448 878 597 Monday-Friday: 9 am-3 pm and Saturday-Sunday: 9 am-1 pm.
Download the Jerilderie Visitors Guide.
Recreation and leisure
Lawn bowls, tennis courts and 18 hole golf course at the Jerilderie Sports Club
123 Jerilderie Street
(03) 5886 1495
Jerilderie Sports Stadium and Community Gym
The Jerilderie Sports Stadium includes the swimming pool complex and gymnasium, as well as an indoor stadium for basketball, netball, volleyball, gymnasium, badminton, racquet-ball, halfcourt tennis, two squash courts, and general ancillary amenities.
119 Jerilderie Street
Jerilderie Swimming Pool
119 Jerilderie Street
0421 648 420
Opening hours: 6 am to 10 am and 1 pm to 7 pm, Tuesday-Sunday
The Jerilderie Swimming Pool includes a new 6 lane, 25 metre lap and recreational pool and a shaded wader's pool. The facility also includes change rooms, shaded seating and shaded grass areas and has free access for locals and visitors.
Cnr of Bolton and Nowranie Street
AFL and netball are played here.
Jerilderie fishing pontoon on Billabong Creek is located is located behind the tennis courts at the Jerilderie Sports Club. To fish in the Billabong Creek, you are required by law to pay the NSW Recreational Fishing Fee and have the receipt of payment of the current fee in your immediate possession. You can pay the fishing fee by phoning 1300 550 474 or online.
The Jerilderie Gold Cup races are held annually in September.
The League of the Silent Flight event for model gliders is held each June.
Murrumbidgee Council hosts the annual Monash Dinner to celebrate the town's famous son, Sir John Monash.
Jerilderie Ned Kelly Show n Shine and Markets - annual event since 2002. Held each May in the lake precinct. Features classic cars, bikes and tractors.
On the Newell Highway, Jerilderie is the main inland route linking Melbourne and Brisbane and the shortest route from Adelaide to Sydney. It's the start of the Kidman Way, a 644 km stretch of road where caravanners and campers can backtrack to the outback. It’s a ‘Bucket List’ journey via state's newest town of Coleambally, the gorgeous riverside town of Darlington Point, through Griffith, and onto Bourke. The Kidman Way joins with Queensland’s Matilda Highway, taking the adventurous traveller a further 1,812 kms to the Gulf of Carpentaria.
Jerilderie is located on the Griffith to Melbourne (via Shepparton) train/coach service, with daily departures from the Caltex Roadhouse, Jerilderie Street. Jerilderie is also connected via coach to Wagga Wagga, Echuca (via Deniliquin),
Jerilderie is also equipped with an aerodrome, located 1 kilometre south of town and can be utilised by private aircraft owners. The strip has a bitumen surface 1,138 metres in length by 15 metres wide – with gravel sides.
Jerilderie is an RV Friendly town and we welcome both caravanners and campers.
Parking: Powell Street
Dump Point: Jerilderie Motel and Caravan Park (Guests only), Brew Park (off Newell Highway)
Fuel Stops: BP 24 Hour Roadhouse, Caltex Service Station, Shell
Mechanics/Tyres/Supermarkets/upholstery shops: Al’s Canvas and Upholstery, Jerilderie Smash Repairs, Jerilderie Tyre Service
You'll find a great range of eateries and food outlets in Jerilderie. There's cafes, a bakery, great pub and club food, restaurants and roadhouse and service station facilities.
Jerilderie has a marvellous range of accommodation. Whether you're looking for a hotel or motel, a cosy little B&B, a caravan park and or backpacker accommodation, you'll find it in Jerilderie.