History of our Council

When we were established - merger of Murrumbidgee Shire Council and Jerilderie Shire Council

At 12:10 pm on Thursday 12 May 2016, Jerilderie Shire Council and Murrumbidgee Shire Council ceased to exist.

The two former councils became part of a new council proclaimed as “Murrumbidgee Council”.

The merger created a new Local Government Area of 6,680 sq km with a population of 4,047. It encompassed the communities of Jerilderie, Coleambally and Darlington Point and was comprised of three wards: Jerilderie, Murrumbidgee East and Murrumbidgee.

General Manager of the new Council was Mr Craig Moffitt and the Administrator was Mr Austin Evans.

Councillors from the two former Councils continued their involvement in the Local Representation Committee leading up to an election in September 2017.

The first Councillors were: Cr Ruth McRae, Cr Faith Bryce, Cr Gaila Smith, Cr Robert Black, Cr Christine Chirgwin, Cr Austin Evans, Cr Robert Curphey, Cr Gavin Gilbert and Cr Phillip Wells.

History of Jerilderie Shire Council

Jerilderie Shire Council was declared in 1918 after the amalgamation of the former Municipality of Jerilderie (1889 - 1918) and Wunnamurra Shire (1906 - 1918).

At the time of the merger with Murrumbidgee Shire Council, Jerilderie Shire had a resident population of approximately 1,496 and covered an area of 3337.5 square kilometres and was the second smallest council in NSW.

Jerilderie Shire Council was well known as a progressive rural Council. It was highly regarded for the instigation of its profitable private works program.

Jerilderie Shire Council's Coat of Arms

List of Mayors and Deputy Mayors at Jerilderie Shire Council

History of Murrumbidgee Shire Council

Established in 1906, Murrumbidgee Shire Council covered an area of 3,508 square kilometres, including over 100 kilometres of natural river frontage to the Murrumbidgee River. 

The first elected Councillors were: William Kook, James McWilliams, John S Robertson, Alexander A White, Herman Kook (Snr) and Francis J Collins. The first Shire President was Herman Kook (Snr) who served from 1906-1910. The first Shire Clerk was L G Markey who served from 1907-1910. 

The first meeting of Murrumbidgee Shire Council was held on 8 December 1906 at the Court House.

At the time of the merger with Jerilderie Shire Council, Murrumbidgee Shire had a population of 2,400 and was one of the fastest growing rural local government authorities in New South Wales.

List of Mayors and Deputy Mayors at Murrumbidgee Shire Council

Shire Clerks/General Managers for Murrumbidgee Shire Council 





L G Markey

Shire Clerk


L H Walker

Shire Clerk


O B E Conolly

Shire Clerk


A E Conolly

Shire Clerk


G H Thomas

Shire Clerk


D White

Shire Clerk


Ian V Crump

Shire Clerk


Paul J Goodsall

Shire Clerk/General Manager


Carolyn Upston

General Manager


Matthew Hopwood-Glover

General Manager