

Darlington Point Office 21 Carrington Street PO Box 5 DARLINGTON POINT NSW 2706

Telephone: 02 6960 5500

Coleambally Office

39 Brolga Place COLEAMBALLY NSW 2707 Jerilderie Office 35 Jerilderie Street PO Box 96 JERILDERIE NSW 2716

Telephone: 02 6954 4060

Telephone 03 5886 1200

MEDIA RELEASE

January 2018

MURRUMBIDGEE COUNCILLOR EVANS FORMALLY RESIGNS

Murrumbidgee Councillor Austin Evans has officially resigned to concentrate on his new role as Member for Murray.

At the December 2017 Council meeting Cr Evans advised of his intention to formally resign from his position as Councillor.

Mayor, Cr McRae thanked Cr Evans for his commitment to Murrumbidgee Council, both as Council's Administrator and more recently as an elected Councillor, and wished him all the best in his new role as Member for Murray.

"I would like to thank Cr Evans for his contribution to Murrumbidgee Council," she said

"I wish him well in the next phase of his political career and I hope the experience will be challenging and productive.

"We look forward to a mutually beneficial relationship that sees Murrumbidgee Council part of a positive regeneration regionally."

Cr Evans was elected to the Murrumbidgee Shire Council in 2012; he became the Deputy Mayor of the Shire in 2013 and Mayor in 2014.

He was elected as the Member for Murray at a by-election last year after the retirement of long-serving member Adrian Piccoli.

Cr Evans' departure means a by-election will now be held for Murrumbidgee Council East Ward.

Voters will head to the polls on 10 March 2018.

Those wishing to nominate as a candidate should go to www.elections.nsw.gov.au

ENDS