History

Several of the articles below have been researched and written by local unofficial Historian, Laurie Henery. Follow the links below to peruse the rich history of Jerilderie.

For the history enthusiasts, you can also read through digitalised copies of the Jerilderie Herald and Urana Advertiser by visiting www.trove.nla.gov.au
 

Council's Coat of Arms

Following the establishment of pioneer cattle stations in the district about the years 1840 -45 the township of Jerilderie came into being in 1858...

Settlement of the Jerilderie District

Establishment of the Town of Jerilderie

The earliest European settlers to come into the Jerilderie District entered from the east, traveli...

Sir John Monash

Sir John Monash's father came to Jerilderie in 1874 with his family to manage a General Store located where in 2011..

Steel Wings Windmill - Luke Park

Made by the Steel Wings Windmill Company of North Sydney in 1910 the windmill was originally erected at...

The Willows Homestead

'The Willows', home of the Jerilderie & District Historical Society, was originally constructed for the Wise Brothers...

Town Windmill

The History of the Town Windmill

In March 1908 the Jerilderie Municipal Council purchased a Windmill and installed it by...