What to see and do
Make The Most Of Your Stay In Jerilderie Although only a relatively small community in terms of population, the town of Jerilderie retains its place in Australian History and today provides and enjoys many facilities and amenities not found in towns of a similar size.
It caters well for the recreational needs of the community with an 18 hole grass green golf course, bowling greens, a lake for water sports, six tennis courts, a modern indoor sports complex and swimming pool, ample park land and a turf track race course.
Other major service facilities include a hospital, a pre-school/community centre, Balmeringa units for the aged, two primary schools, police station, an ambulance station and a medical centre.The entertainment needs of the community are covered by the three hotels, one hotel/motel and a club. Accommodation is also catered for by the three motels and the caravan park.
For a full list of businesses and services, visit our Business Listing page.
Of interest to the visitor would be:
The Ned Kelly Raid Trail
The Ned Kelly Raid Trail leads visitors around the various sites that Ned Kelly and his gang visited during the 1879 raid on Jerilderie.
The Kelly Gang captured the southern New South Wales town of Jerilderie in February 1879, and robbed the local bank of 2,000 pounds. Here, Ned gave his Jerilderie Letter to the bank's accountant for publication as well as printing in the Jerilderie Gazette. It outlined Kelly's defence of the Gang's actions at Stringybark Creek, but was not published until after Kelly's death. After Beechworth Victoria, Jerilderie has the most Kelly-related buildings and sites, including the Post and Telegraph Office which was disabled by the Gang to prevent news of their robbery spreading. A walking "raid trail" map is available or call in to the Jerilderie Branch Council office.
Steel Wings Windmill
Situated at Luke Park adjacent to Lake Jerilderie, this
structure is truly a magnificent sight. Made in Sydney 1909 -1910 the windmill
was erected at Goolgumbla Station and used for stock and domestic supplies. Due
to wind damage the item was rendered unserviceable until a Local Restoration
Committee resurrected it in its present position in 1979. It stands 50 foot
(15.24 metres) tall, has a wheel diameter of 25 foot (7.62 metres) and a tail
length of 24 foot (7.315 metres). Visit the History page from more information.
The Jerilderie Railway Station was first constructed in 1884 and the station represents a grand picture in the history of this transport facility. The station underwent repairs and improvements to coincide with the Centenary Celebrations October 26 to 28, 1984. The station closed operations on the 9th February, 1987. A project to renovate the station was undertaken by the Jerilderie Historical Society in conjunction with the Jerilderie Council in April, 1993, and it was used for residential purposes for some years. In 2001 State Rail provided the funding and in conjunction with the Jerilderie Shire Council's Heritage Advisor, restored the building to its former glory. Set amongst tall, shady gums and with its landscaped lawn the Railway Station is great place to stop and soak up some history.
Currently the Station is a private residence.
The Willows Homestead
This stately old homestead, once housing the Jerilderie Museum and Jerilderie Historical Society memorabilia, began its life on this site as a Flour Mill, constructed for Thomas and George Wise in 1884 and receiving its first ton of wheat for milling during the week ending 8 March 1885. Later in the same year rail came to Jerilderie and then, with the town water supply available from 1894, Wise Bros relocated their flour milling operations onto railway land, connected by a spur line.
Utilising, in part, bricks from the chimney stack of the mill, the homestead was remodelled and occupied by Thomas Wise as his family residence until 1909. Between 1920 and 1959 the homestead was occupied by Dr Marcus Vicars Southey, DSO, as his residence and surgery.
The homestead became derelict until purchased by the NSW Land Department in August 1975 and dedicated as a Reserve for a Museum. Jerilderie Shire Council was appointed trustees, with the Historical Society responsible for its management. Visit the History page for more information.
Post and Telegraph Office
During the Kelly Gang’s raid in 1879, the telegraph line was
cut to prevent any communication of the Gang’s presence. The Post Office is currently only available for viewing externally. Located on Powell Street.
The Ned Kelly Blacksmith Shop
Step back in time and experience yesteryear, hear an eye-witness account of the raid on the Bank of New South Wales in Jerilderie by Ned Kelly and his gang, soak up the nostalgia of standing where the Kelly Gang's horses were shod in 'The Ned Kelly Blacksmith Shop'.
A Collection of Australiana, fishing and blacksmithing memorabilia, souvenirs and bric-a-brac are available.
Open by appointment: 0428 861513, Powell Street Jerilderie
The Jerilderie Library is located at 41-43 Jerilderie Street and is a fantastic facility for all members of the community.
The Library was previously located at the Old Court House until the new Library was built in its central location.
The current Library was opened on 15 April 2009 and has a combination of historic and modern influences. The building is a replica to the original “Banksi” home, which once stood at the site. Some of the material was recycled from the original building, including a front window, doors, a mantel piece and ceiling rose which is a feature in the “Banksi” room, named after the original building.
The construction of the new library also included engaging a local artist, Helene Mortlock, to design two glass panels to display at the entry to the Library. The panels illustrate some of Jerilderie's rich history and present day influences, and include photographs as well as Helene’s artistic drawing. The panels can be viewed during normal library opening hours; opening hours
The Old Printery Building
The restoration of this building was completed in 2012.
This building housed the printing shop and office of the Jerilderie and Urana Gazette run by Mr Samuel Gill. On Monday 10 February 1879 Ned Kelly tried to find Mr Gill in order to have him print his “Jerilderie Letter”.
The Bolt Exhibition
“Doing the Bolt”, an exhibition of convicts and bushrangers, is housed in the Old Printery building. This exhibition is an extensive collection of exact replicas and originals including: storyboards and banners detailing the life of bushrangers and convicts, pistols and guns, a flag flown at the Eureka Rebellion, a cat'o'nine tails and whipping post, shackles and locks and much more.
Inspection by appointment only. Contact the Jerilderie Branch Council office 0358 861200
Jerilderie Historic Residence – Historic Home and Gardens
(Also known as Ye Olde Bank)
This grand building has been restored to its former glory with the interior designed and contents displayed just as they would have been in the 1800's. The building showcases an impressive collection of pieces from the Queen Victoria era. Guided tours are available for visitors to view this beautiful building and its immaculately presented garden and experience the charm and elegance of the Victorian era.
Tours are available by appointment, contact Roy or Beth on 0499 849 320 or 0457 618 284.
Group Bookings preferable. Closed the months of February, June, July and August.
Nature & Leisure
Jerilderie Steam Rail and Heritage Club - Mini Rail
On the second Sunday of the month (weather permitting), you will find the Jerilderie Steam Rail and Heritage Club operating over the bridge from Powell Street. The mini steam rail track is nestled amongst the Billabong Creek and provides an ideal location for the “older kids” to tinker with their toys and offers an exciting experience for the children and the young at heart. Please note closed shoes must be worn to ride the mini rail. Special bookings or enquiries phone: 0428 861 879.
Horgan Walk is an easy 10 minute walk along the banks of the Billabong Creek starting at Luke Park near Lake Jerilderie. The Walk passes many historic sites that are marked with signs giving a brief history of the area. It is also home to the Jerilderie Tidy Towns Bush Tucker Trail.
Lake Jerilderie and Luke Park
The lake was officially opened in February, 1979, following its construction by a group of enthusiasts presently known as the Jerilderie Aquatic Club. The water area is 5.3 ha. and is used for water sports including skiing and enjoyed by recreationists and passing travellers.
Luke Park was developed by the Jerilderie Lions Club and provides pleasant recreation including barbecue and playground facilities in an enjoyable atmosphere. Luke Park is the gateway to the Mini Steam Rail and Horgan Walk.
Memorial Park and Garden
Memorial Park was completed in 2010 and is home to the Jerilderie Cenotaph. It is a peaceful site created to allow people to reflect and honour the fallen and those who served and continue to serve Australia in War.
The park is also home to a Leopard tank, decommissioned and donated to the Jerilderie community and Jerilderie RSL Sub-Branch in 2010. A garden, established and maintained by the Jerilderie Public School and St Joseph’s
Primary School, can also be enjoyed at this site.
Browse through the various Bric-a Brac and specialty shops in Jerilderie to find some hidden treasures.
Anglican Church Second Hand Shop
Browse through this charity second hand shop for some bargains and pre loved treasures! Open Mondays and some other days.
The local Menshed has a great collection of handmade timber items as well as pre loved furniture and custom made pieces. Open Tuesday and Thursday mornings.
For all your reading needs as well as stationary, toys and giftware, drop into the Jerilderie Newsagency for a look, open 7 days.
Open Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm, the Jerilderie Pharmacy has a great range of gifts for children and adult alike, browse the unique collection of homewares, beauty products as well as jewellery and handbags to name a few.
Jerilderie Post Office
As well as all your postal services, the Jerilderie Pharmacy offers a range of locally made items as well as luggage, appliances and books.
Jumptree Studios is the studio of Helene Mortlock - the bulk of Helene's creative works are commissioned house portraits. Helene draws finely detailed graphite illustrations. Homes huge or humble. Working from photos from anywhere worldwide Helene's pencils emit the essence of home. Currently her studio is relocating and Helene is working from her studio at home. Otherwise she is available through her Social Media platforms and at the end of her phone.
A varied collection of vintage, antique and collector items, browse the huge assortment to find a treasure or two.
Second Hand Store
From books to clothes, furniture and homewares, this second hand store has it all.
Jerilderie’s own St Vincent de Paul shop caters for everyone with a variety of second hand clothes, shoes and miscellaneous items.
Sticky-Fingers Candy Shop
At Sticky Fingers you’ll find all of the old fashion favourites including aniseed balls, Dutch licorice, sherbets, rock candy, and Choo Choo Bars along with speciality dark chocolates and the famous Melba’s Inch Licorice Block.
Housed in a heritage listed building, the shop once served as a printery and later a barber shop. The story behind the building wouldn’t be complete without a Ned Kelly connection but you’ll have to ask Kathy about that one.
Phone: 0448878597 Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm Saturday-Sunday: 9am-1pm