Committee to Remain Until August

Residents in the Murrumbidgee Council area will continue to have a voice on important matters affecting them in the lead up to the September Council elections.

The Local Representation Committee (LRC) was a mandate of the State Government when it announced the merger between the former Murrumbidgee Shire and Jerilderie Shire Councils on May 12, 2016. Since then nine members have played an important role in providing advice to the Administrator and have assisted in helping establish the new Council.

Administrator Austin Evans said his decision to keep the LRC in place until August was to ensure the community’s voice was heard on important decisions that were yet to be made.

“I know that other administrators have chosen to dissolve their committees a bit earlier but I think this group is doing an important job,” he said.

“There are still some major decisions to be made and I value the input of these members. They are here to let me know what our community wants.”

Murrumbidgee Council LRC members are Chair Ruth McRae, Deputy Chair Robert Curphey, Christine Chirgwin, Robert Black, Gavin Gilbert, Terry Hogan, Faith Bryce, Gaila Smith and Gordon Beaumont. Mr Beaumont replaced Phillip Wells in March this year.

The committee meets monthly and will continue to exist and advise the Administrator on council related issues until August.

This year’s Council elections will be held on Saturday, 9 September.

Anyone who is eligible to vote may stand for election as Councillor and Council will host a series of information sessions for all potential candidates in the coming months.