Local Representation Committee Replacement Named for Murrumbidgee Council

14 March 2017 - Media Release

Murrumbidgee Council Administrator Austin Evans is pleased to announce that well-known Darlington Point resident Gordon Beaumont has been appointed to the Local Representation Committee (LRC).

Mr Evans said the decision to appoint Mr Beaumont was clear-cut as he was the candidate with the next highest number of votes at the 2012 elections.

“I’m really happy to say that he is interested and is looking forward to working with Council and representing the people of Darlington Point,” Mr Evans said.

“He will be attending his first LRC Meeting next week and we welcome him on board.”

Five former Murrumbidgee Shire and four former Jerilderie Shire Councillors were appointed to the Local Representation Committee (LRC) by Murrumbidgee Council Administrator, Mr Austin Evans at an Extraordinary Meeting of Council on Wednesday, 25 May 2016.

Chair of the LRC is Ruth McRae, former Mayor of Jerilderie.

Other members of the LRC are Robert Black, Robert Curphey, Christine Chirgwin, Gavin Gilbert, Terry Hogan, Gaila Smith and Faith Bryce.

The LRC is a sunset committee whose tenure will conclude when elections for the new Murrumbidgee Council take place later this year on 9 September. The LRC meets on a monthly rotating schedule (in each of the three communities) on the third Tuesday of every month.