Candidate Information Sessions

The call has gone out for capable, forward-thinking people to nominate for the first Murrumbidgee Council elections, with awareness sessions being held for potential candidates.

Anyone interested in running for Council in the September Local Government elections is encouraged to attend one of the three Candidate Sessions being run by Council.

Administrator Austin Evans, General Manager Craig Moffitt, Local Representation Committee (LRC) Chair Ruth McRae and Deputy General Manager Andrew Crakanthorp will be on hand to help potential candidates understand what being a Councillor means in 2017, as well as highlighting the leadership role of a Councillor for the broader community.

These sessions will focus on the nomination process, what it means to be a Councillor of Murrumbidgee Council, information on key dates after the election, first Council meeting, expected meeting cycles, commitments of elected representatives and key documents and policies.

General Manager Craig Moffitt said being a Councillor is extremely rewarding, and gives people the chance to drive the community’s vision and make important decisions that benefit and provide opportunity for the whole area.

Formed in May 2016, Murrumbidgee Council has already accomplished a lot and is squarely focused on the future and delivering improved services. 

“Holding elections is the next big milestone for our Council and community. If there was ever a time to become a Councillor, it’s now,” Mr Moffitt said.

“Councillors will need to be local in focus but strategic in outlook, and prepared to make courageous decisions that enable our region to prosper and thrive.”

 Candidate Information Sessions will be held on:

  •  Monday 3 July- Jerilderie Council Chambers
  •  Wednesday 5 July -Darlington Point Council Chambers
  •  Tuesday 11 July -Coleambally Council Chambers

 All sessions will commence at 6.30pm.

Nominations for candidates open on Monday 31 July and close at 12 noon on Wednesday 9 August.

Murrumbidgee Council includes the following wards: Murrumbidgee Ward, Murrumbidgee East Ward and Jerilderie Ward. There will be three councillors per ward.

Elections for the nine-person Murrumbidgee Council will be held on Saturday 9 September 2017. Councillors will be elected for a three-year term.

For more information about eligibility, how to nominate, and voting and polling information, visit Murrumbidgee Council website at or the NSW Electoral Commission website at

Returning Officer Jan Mitchell will start full-time on 17 July and will be based at the Darlington Point CWA Hall.